Tags

, , , ,

Cara Hoffman’s Be Safe I Love You shattered my heart as a reader and made me love returning war veterans’ stories in the same way Carol Rifka Brunt’s Tell The Wolves I’m Home did for coming-of-age stories. You just wanted to crawl inside the story and hug so many of the characters. Kind hard to believe the stories weren’t real – that’s how alive the characters felt. I didn’t like Hoffman’s other book I had read (So Much Pretty), but the reviews from respected readers were so persuasive, I had to give it a try. So glad I did. Of course, it also made me want to smack Hoffman upside the head for not writing her other book this way – as a writer, I was definitely paying attention to so many things she did. I’m keeping my eye out for the paperback release to I can pick it up and read it again. 4 of 5 stars.

