Tags

, , ,

Not my favorite John Green story. I wouldn’t dissuade anyone from reading it, but I wouldn’t recommend it either. First: I wasn’t madly in love with any of the characters; I didn’t even like half of them. I appreciated that they were purposefully drawn that way, but I think my reading suffered for having the expectations of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON. Secondly: See my earlier comment about it not being my favorite John Green – if I’m going to recommend something, it’s going to be my first or second favorite. Lastly: I found the ending (or the catalyst to the ending) broadcasted so early that I found it incredibly annoying. Maybe he wasn’t trying to hide the event, but I want *something*, some nuance, some secondary event, some discovery or reaction to be unexpected or else so out-of-the-park well-written that I don’t care that I guessed right. Borrow it from a friend or the library, or maybe pick it up secondhand.

