Tags

, ,

I admit defeat: I will never like King’s Salem’s Lot. Not in a train or in the rain (or on a plain in Spain). I don’t know what it is. I think it might have something to do with the (intentional) cooler feel to the story. It lacks the signature King warmth I’ve come to love. It could have something to do with the creepy, long-faced vampires, and the haunted Marsten house that strikes at a very real, very primal fear that is rooted for-keeps in my soul.

But whatever it is, re-reading the book – twice, three, even four times – isn’t going to help. Knowing that key players from the Lot end up in other favorite stories won’t help. I’m started to think nothing will.

And I’m okay with that. The Shining is King’s best haunted house story as far as I’m concerned. And that’s enough for me. [1 of 5 stars.]

