Tags

, , ,

I couldn’t remember anything about this book until I started reading – and then I quickly fell in love. I thought.

Young twenty-something Lucy Hull falls into a job as a small town children’s librarian. Her life is adrift – the only thing she knows she loves is her weekly visits from her favorite patron, 10-year-old Ian Drake.

A book about books! And readers! With clever literary references bandied about! Ian is smart, precocious, and quite a bit like my 8-year-old daughter’s best friend. Except for one thing: Ian is rather effeminate, rumored to be gay (how much do I like Lucy’s retort that Ian isn’t anything-sexual because hello! Only ten!), and he sort of tricks Lucy into kidnapping him away from his sucky, complicated, small-town life. Okay, okay, that’s more than one thing. Also: that’s sort of where the book fell off the track for me.

There was no good reason that any of the plot would have happened. I’m sorry – there is absolutely no way a grown-up would have kidnapped (or let herself be somehow kidnapped?) a 10-year-old patron and driven aimlessly across the country. That’s a felony. No matter how strongly you believe the 10-year-old child is being persecuted, that’s not how a real-life-person is going to handle the situation.

Did I finish the book? You betcha. It was annoying and distracting, the unbelievability, but not to the point where I threw the book down. I had to make sure Ian was okay. But no way am I going to tell you to pick the book up.

Don’t fall down the same rabbit hole I did, no matter how catchy the first chapter is. Trust me – there will be gnashing of teeth. 2 of 5 stars.

