Tags

I’ll admit: Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84 has been on my To Read list for awhile, I’ve just been a little shy about pulling it off the shelf and starting it. Reviews sang its praises, then declared it maddening. A difficult read, they said, but well worth slogging through nearly 1000 pages. Big books have never frightened me, not like tedious books. But even tedious books are, for me, well worth the investment if there’s a pay-off at the end. (Owen Meany, I’m looking at you, kid.) Perhaps it’s that 1Q84 was set in Japan, and I’m rather less fond of books set in the far East. Who knows, why exactly, certainly I can’t pin it down, not exactly, but I was very hesitant to open 1Q84.

Last week, The Notification from the library appeared in my inbox: my ebook was ready for check-out. So I did it. I pulled the trigger. And…I was pleasantly surprised. I’m only about 100 pages in, but I’m finding Murakami’s writing to be very readable, indeed. Maybe it’s because my expectations were ghastly, but I’m enjoying the story a rather lot. Not enough to speed me through my chores, but enough that I don’t dread picking the book up again.

Perhaps it’s because I’m a sucker for alternate realities and doors in a seemingly normal world… but I’m kinda digging what I’ve stumbled into. I just wish Mr. Murakami would pick up the pace just a leetle bit. Slow and steady can only hold an audience for so long…

