Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I just finished a re-read of Mary Ann Staffer’s gorgeously written The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. If you’re a reader, if you love history (particularly that of World War II and the reconstruction afterwards), if you find epistolary form charming rather than put-offish, and if you love an assortment of small-town genuine characters, you must read Guernsey. I had forgotten…not how much I loved it, exactly, because I awarded it the honor of being placed amongst my most favorite books. Perhaps what I had forgotten was just how bookish the story is. Silly, really, since there is a LITERARY SOCIETY right there in the title. But with characters and a setting such as you’ll find inside, perhaps I could be forgiven just a little.

My sister and I were talking about all the Guernsey love and we started thinking of other books that were about people who loved books. My beloved Anne of Green Gables. The brilliantly innovative Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde. Anne Fadiman’s lovely collection of familiar essays, Ex Libris. My relatively newish favorite (I discovered it last year) that is just as much about a love of books and stories as it is gothic suspense, The Thirteenth Tale. John Connolly’s The Book of Lost Things, a novel so good, it’s the only non- non-fiction book one of my friends has read in years.

There is something to be said about these books about books. And I know I must be missing some of the very best ones out there. Confess: what are your favorites?

